Week Eleven ~ MKMMA ~ Me… and the Mirror

There’s nowhere to run or hide when you look at yourself in a mirror.

Sure, I can walk away, look away, but I’m still there. It’s a bit like your FEET.You know they’re there. You walk all day with them, but you don’t really pay them any attention. You never sit and pull up a foot and look at it and pat and massage it and thank it … do you?

Well, it reminds me of the cursory glance we give each other. I put on makeup, my husband shaves, but I notice that we don’t notice ourselves. We’re just looking at the face. Try looking into your eyes….

Okay, doing that now, so I may as well stay and do this exercise. It’s actually the most honest appraisal I’ll ever get. There is only me, and I know what I’ve done, haven’t done, thought of, forgot, remembered, put off, did the best, did the least, pretended to do…. so, it’s me and me. And we’re not going anywhere ūüôā

This is my time with me and I’m starting to treasure it, because I’m honest with her…. that women I’m getting to know.

In fact it’s amazing what comes out of my mouth lol.

First, I read the Gal in the Glass by Dale Wimbrow

When  you  get  what  you  want  in  your  struggle  for  pelf,
And  the  world  makes  you  Queen for  a  day,
Then  go  to  the  mirror  and  look  at  yourself,
And  see  what  that  gal has  to  say.
For ¬†it ¬†isn’t ¬†your ¬†Father, ¬†or ¬†Mother, ¬†or
Partner  for  life,
Who  judgement  upon  you  must  pass.
The  person  whose  verdict  counts  most  in  your  life
Is  the  gal staring  back  from  the  glass.
She’s ¬†the¬† gal to ¬†please, ¬†never ¬†mind ¬†all ¬†the ¬†rest,
For¬† she’s ¬†with ¬†you ¬†clear ¬†up ¬†to ¬†the ¬†end,
And ¬†you’ve ¬†passed ¬†your ¬†most ¬†dangerous, ¬†difficult ¬†test
If  the  gal in  the  glass  is  your  friend.
You ¬†may ¬†be ¬†like ¬†Jack ¬†Horner ¬†and ¬†“chisel” ¬†a ¬†plum,
And ¬†think ¬†you’re ¬†a ¬†wonderful ¬†gal,
But ¬†the¬† gal in ¬†the ¬†glass ¬†says ¬†you’re ¬†only ¬†a ¬†bum
If ¬†you¬† can’t ¬†look ¬†her straight ¬†in ¬†the ¬†eye.
You  can  fool  the  whole  world  down  the  pathway  of  years,
And  get  pats  on  the  back  as  you  pass,
But  your  final  reward  will  be  heartaches  and  tears
If ¬†you’ve ¬†cheated ¬†the ¬†gal in ¬†the ¬†glass.
‚̧ ‚̧ ‚̧

Then, I appraise my day… honestly and fully.

The most important thing that’s happened is that I am kinder, gentler and more loving to myself than ever before. I see me. And I see the struggle or the win I’ve had that day. In context. And I love this girl in the glass more than ever. And I don’t have to wonder any more whether I’m going to make it. She and me, we have a pact.

We know we’re there ūüėȬ†¬†¬† o0768076813142563246

And if you take a few minute to watch this… you’ll know for sure how important it is to make friends with that gal (or guy) you see every day.

About weseekfreedom

After 25 years in a small dark room speaking to no one (well a FEW people then), the Digital Age entered and threw me out on my ear. What does an old film editor do then? Welcome to Network Marketing! Who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks?
This entry was posted in Growth, MKMMA, New life, Personal development, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week Eleven ~ MKMMA ~ Me… and the Mirror

  1. jwest959 says:

    how is it that we have created a world where being nice, reminding those we love or just know, how wonderful they are, makes them cry? What kind of self imposed stressful falsehoods have we accepted as truth and decided these untrue things define us? Being still and looking in the mirror can change that faster than anything else I have worked with, learned or attempted to practice. so we should all sit, talk to ourselves in the mirror and remember that it’s so much easier to be nice-especially since we have no idea what is going on in that person’s life just now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hear hear ūüôā If only…. well, changing that, one person at a time… will we ever catch up Jenny? I keep reminding myself and humming that beautiful song in my head… In the end, only kindness matters…. I appreciate you so much! Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

